LISTEN: Brand New Music from Tanlines – “Slipping Away”

tanlines4The wait is finally over. Just under three years since their album Mixed Emotions was released, NY-based electropop duo Tanlines have returned. The album bordered on perfection, from its infectious pop songs like “All of Me”, “Green Grass”, and “Yes Way” to the more dark, yet somehow still catchy, “Not the Same” and “Rain Delay”, Mixed Emotions was one of 2012’s highlights.

Today, the duo bring us a taste of their new material, debuting “Slipping Away” on YouTube, as well as a free download with mailing list sign-up. The track is built around a repeating heavy bass line and Jesse Cohen’s contagious guitars, with frontman Eric Emm’s low singing voice carrying the song with catchy lyrics. The duo lean heavily on a laid back, more open-minded approach, where the songs of Mixed Emotions relied heavily on the sounds of World Music. Instead, Tanlines are now reaching for 90’s New York City hip-hop drums, Detroit synths, and seemingly, a lot more guitars.

“Slipping Away” is a welcome return to one of the absolute best electronic groups around. The song will be featured on their new album, Highlights, due out May 19 via True Panther. The album promises to take Tanlines even deeper than they went on Mixed Emotions, yet remaining true to what the duo know and love.